Settling in Cape Town again

clovelly sunsetI’ve been back two weeks now. After three months away, it feels it’s going to take me a little while to settle back down again. But I am glad to be back, and feeling more at home than I did previously. My abode – a spacious rented one-bedroom flat – on the Clovelly mountainside proved to be slightly rain-damaged, after one of the wettest winters Cape Town has had for years. But none of my stuff was affected; no-one had broken in or moved in in my absence. Though the guinea fowls, who are extraordinarily noisy at present – spring? sex? it’s not a sexy noise! – seemed to think this might be a possible abode, and quite literally came knocking at doors and windows a few times before they realised I was back. I’ve taken to yelling out numbers at them randomly as we pass each on paths – “get out from under my wheels, no. 42!, my brakes arent that good”. Presumably, this is an indication that I’m isolated and rapidly becoming eccentric.

Except, I don’t really feel lonely here. I know a few of the neighbours by sight, and met a few more when going door-to-door to warn them of the party I held last Saturday evening – which sadly did not turn out particularly noisy! But since I overlook the whole valley, and can see people strolling in the vlei, and with the aid of my great-grandfather’s seaman’s telescope, walking on the beach at Fish Hoek, there’s no sense of isolation. Children’s voices float from the several schools in the valley during the day. Occasionally a cat drops in. The neighbour’s dogs – strange thin, brindled creatures, looking like combinations of wild dog and whippet – remembered me on my return, and greet me joyfully after token barking.

I feel very fortunate.

About David

I am an environmental writer, journalist and speaker living in Cape Town, South Africa.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Settling in Cape Town again

  1. Eduard says:

    You are indeed fortunate to live there – even with all the inconvenience of being far from town. Where I live, no children’s voices float in – rather the noise of Taxis hooting to potential passengers and traffic. No beach or vlei from here – buildings and a wee bit of mountain!

Leave a Reply

